personal, poetry, thoughts

I Am Not Like My Mother

I’m not like my mother
The perfect wife of an absent man
The present parent to the one off-duty
The caretaker, the homemaker.

I am not like my mother
To wait nights up alone wondering where he’s gone
To spend days questioning if she’s done something wrong
To fake a smile going to gatherings alone.

I am not like my mother.

I am
The one on the other side of the unmade bed
The one abandoned in the shadows of the dusk
The one you would normally snark at with disgust.

I am not like my mother.

I am
Scrubbing off the adultery each day in the shower
Hoping and condemning all in the same hour
Recollecting memories as sweet as they’re sour.

I am not like my mother.

I am
The one dying to share an untold love story
The one whose blood freezes at the mention of your name
The one whose pillowcase is still kept the same.

I am not like my mother.

I am
Waiting nights up wondering if he’s ever gonna come
Spending days questioning if this is all something wrong
Faking a smile when people ask why I am alone.

I am not like my mother.
I am.

2 thoughts on “I Am Not Like My Mother”

Leave a Reply

