poetry

I’m Horrible To Love But A Great Story

“There are ways
to get the person you love
to hate you:
Make confrontational comments
about their friends’ bands.
Smoke cigarettes around them
and insist on feeding yourself
whiskey sours for dinner.
Refuse their help when it comes.
Say, get off of me, I’m okay.
Convince yourself that you are
always
always always
okay.

I am very good at this game.
 If you took all of those who have loved me
out to dinner,
they could talk for an entire meal
about my inadequacies.My failures are a great conversation topic.
I have many.
And don’t worry if the conversation lulls.
I will always find a new way
to mess up.

— Lora Mathis

Leave a Reply

